This Wasn’t Supposed to Happen

I hate it when I lie to myself! Especially when I have no idea that I’m telling a lie!

You may recall that part of my decision to volunteer at the Humane Society of Utah was that I would only work with dogs. (Click here to see the older post.) I concluded that avoiding the cats would make it much easier to avoid wanting to take them all home, etc., etc.). I have really enjoyed spending time with the dogs – and I’m so happy to report that Jack finally got adopted!

It took a little longer than I had hoped to get the opportunity to work with another photographer to get tips and instructions on photographing the dogs, but that finally happened in December. That’s also when I first began to face the possibility that I had told a lie to myself and all my blog readers.

To make a long story short, it was through conversations with the other photographers and HSU’s volunteer coordinator, Jamie, that I became certain of my self-deception. How’s this for evidence of my close relationship with Murphy’s Law? Out of all 5 volunteer photographers, none of them are able to work with the cats because of allergies, etc. This means no cats are getting decent photos posted on the HSU website, which means that the cats aren’t getting the boost in adoption rates that good photos have been proven to bring about (read more about that here).

So, I stewed about it off and on over the entire 9 days I spent with family in Florida over the holidays. Somebody needed to do this job. Somebody had to help the cats; there were already 4 other photographers taking photos of adoptable dogs at HSU. And there are so many beautiful cats available for adoption. So, so many.

Yeah, I know it’s pointless for me to waste your time with details. So here’s a few of the 15 adoptable kitties I photographed on Monday. And that’s only a small fraction of the fabulous felines waiting for you to drop by the Murray HSU facility, fall in love, and take them into your loving homes.

Sushi

Athens

Oklie

Max

Time for me to get busy rigging up a cat-friendly portable background setup I can easily use at the shelter… and wash/defur between uses!

2 comments

  1. I want Sushi! Do not bring any of those cats home – I know you are weak but you can do it! Love you and hopefully your photographs will get these sweet kitties adopted soon!

    Like

  2. I know … it’s hard not to round them all up and take them home. BUT … your photos will go so far to helping these pets get adopted! The Pawsitively Texas page on Facebook ( https://www.facebook.com/PawsTexas ) is a strong network for animals in need of rescue or adoption. We see a LOT of shelter pet photos. So many have poor photos, but the more photographers that donate their time, the more pets have a chance at life! Thank you so much. Thank you so much for using your talent to help pets in need!

    Like

Please share your comments and suggestions!