Resting in the Garden

There is a grave in Rose Hill Cemetery that has become a lush garden of tropical plants. Catholic idols and instruments attend this woman, this mother, who was so obviously cherished by family and friends. As I was roaming through the cemetery in the last few minutes of daylight, my eye was caught by this grave and the way the combination of light and shadow drew the eye directly to the angel statue, holding a rosary and watching over this loved one. I was struck by the variety of ways we express our grief and our love for those who have died, and liked how grief for this much-loved mother has grown into a garden.

"Resting in the Garden" [Click the image to enlarge/reduce its size.] Nikon D800, ISO 320, f/9.0 at 1/13 sec., 85 mm

“Resting in the Garden” [Click the image to enlarge/reduce its size.] Nikon D800, ISO 320, f/9.0 at 1/13 sec., 85 mm

I appreciate your shares of my posts, as they let others know about this hardly-known blog.

PLEASE vote for this blog in the 2013 Cool Photo Blog Awards – it only takes a single click on this link and you’re done.

=^,,^=

I’m socially connected!

Look for me on Instagram at @EarlHarrisPhoto, where I am posting photos captured and edited solely on my iPhone… especially kitties. #herekittykitty #instagramcats

I also Twitter and Tweet at @EarlHarrisPhoto

Thanks for visiting, “I Shutter at the Thought!”. Please stop by again.

Please share your comments and suggestions!

