Street Portraiture: Faces of Kissimmee, #24

Tito was tending to the landscaping at what I will forever think of as “the old First Federal Savings & Loan building”, downtown. This structure will always make me recall the 1960’s and occasional trips here on Saturday afternoons. For my father, these trips meant tending to some undone VP job task. For my siblings and me, they meant an opportunity to raid the sourball candy jar, the Charles’ Chips cans, and the complimentary Nehi orange soda available from the employee lounge. If we behaved – or successfully pretended to, we would sometimes be permitted to play on one of the IBM Selectric typewriters that adorned the desk of every secretary, nka “administrative assistant”. Its interchangeable fonts and ball heads used to fascinate me: just how did it know precisely how far it had to turn to strike the correct letter against the page? But I digress…

It was about 9:30 AM. Tito was amongst some shrubbery, swiftly removing any weeds or debris from around them. I liked his hat; I can’t wear hats, as it is my opinion that I pretty much look rediculous in them. I asked for permission to take his photo. Without saying a word in response, Tito stood up straight and gave me a broad smile. I took the shot.

“Tito” [Click image to enlarge or reduce its size.] Nikon D300, ISO 1250, f/2.4 at 1/2000 sec., 85 mm

=^,,^=

Please Like Earl Harris Photography on Facebook

Please share your comments and suggestions!

