Nancy

Yesterday, I got up pretty early in the morning and made the hour-or-so drive to Daytona Beach to see and photograph the sunrise. It turned out to be a pretty overcast morning once I got there. Because I had stopped to take a few photos of a building glowing in the darkness that caught my eye, I was late. I ended up getting there about 10 minutes after the initial peek of the sun over the crest of the ocean horizon. (I’ll share the photo of the building in a future post.)

Over the course of my beach walk, I came upon Nancy. Nancy is a local to the area. She has a smile that was as warm as the rising sun embracing the earth with the light of a new day. She was great fun to speak with and finally I asked if I could take a candid beach portrait. She was happy to oblige me.

Here’s your photo, Nancy. I hope you like it.

Nikon D300, ISO 320, f/13 at 1/60 sec., 82 mm

Nikon D300, ISO 320, f/13 at 1/60 sec., 82 mm

=^..^=

 

Click to see Recommendations in CAMERA & PHOTO from Amazon.com

2 comments

  1. Earl, I really enjoy your abstracts, landscapes, flowers and cats… but I look forward most to your candid portraits. They have an irresistible zing that comes from your interactions with the subjects you choose (or do they choose you?) More, please! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Carl! I really enjoy doing the street portraits, but it has been difficult these last few months with our circumstances to get out and do photo walks to find victims… er… subjects. Things are changing though, I’m happy to say.
      As for who finds whom, it’s a mutual thing most often. You learn to read people and know who you can approach with pretty clear certainty they will agree to be photographed.

      Like

Please share your comments and suggestions!

