Drops of Light

Drops of Light 1

Drops of Light 2

There is something magical about early morning. It’s the time when I find myself most at ease and in tune with myself and the world that surrounds me. It is the time when I reflectively study God’s Word. It is the time when the rushing din of the day ahead hasn’t yet drowned out the bird’s song, the gentle notes of wind chimes, or the soft gurgling sound of brewing coffee.

I love to venture outside in the peaceful early hours of the day, too. It’s a wonderful time for photography: the lighting is right, the streets and sidewalks aren’t overcrowded yet, and it gives me the enhanced opportunity to see things a little differently.

It was on one of these morning outings, after a night of rain, that I came across this wet, wintered plant. It first caught my eye because of the way it seemed to shimmer from a distance in the light of the new day’s sun. Though it was brown and dormant for the winter, this plant still appeared renewed and refreshed by the sun and the rain. It spoke to me of the promise of the Spring that is to come and of the fresh, dynamic colors that are just waiting to flower. It spoke to me of new life, new love, and new beginnings still to be discovered.

In these images I see hope and the promises of my faith.

These images are available as cards or prints from EarlHarrisPhotography.com

3 comments

Please share your comments and suggestions!

